Action Figures: All About Action, Rock Bottoms and Success

Nitro Circus – the most insane, adventurous and determined group of people I have ever seen. Everyone in the crew is a unique personality. Even though they all want to break the rules and records, they support each other’s success as nobody else. Nitro Circus is not an ordinary group of people, they are family.

Since the very first moment the release of Action Figures was announced, I was sitting on needles. Impatient with high expectations. I have imagined the whole documentary in a little bit different light, but it was far from a let down.

Producers hold to the title. This documentary is nothing but action, determination, overcoming the boundaries and personal records. It presents as many unique personality as possible in an one hour footage. I think, 5 hours movie would not be enough to show all the greatness, madness and extreme ideas turning into real stunts.

Dusty Wygle got me at “I’m good. I made it. I kinda made it.” while he ate sh*t and not made it at all. Seeing Travis’ leg from the inside was something I have totally unforseen. And there are many moments like that. One crash after another, hitting the ground hard and yet not giving up. They get frustrated, tired but never stop trying. Like the Roberts brothers mastering a BMX Triple Backflip to dirt. Or Jolene Van Vugt becoming the first female to Double Backflip a BMX bike and also being the first female to Frontflip a moto bike.

This was the second time I have seen Bruce Cook‘s and Emma McFerran‘s accident. The way they never gave up and got back to what they have been doing before is bewildering. Bruce overcome all of the presumptions and disbelievers when he become the first paraglepic to flip a bike. He breathes riding a bike and seriously only the sky is the limit for this guy. Also a huge inspiration is Bill Van Vugt, who at his age is yet a hard rock moto rider.

The reason Action Figures left such emotions inside me is that it shows what’s behind all those shows and events they do. We buy tickets to see them doing crazy stuff most of us would not even want to try out. On the other hand, they risk everything they have got. Still, they do it, because they love it. I know I would not last a day with them, yet I would do anything to experience a crazy afternoon at Travis’ backyard. The energy, love, respect, positive attitude and pure insanity is what it is all about. Nothing is impossible and sky is the limit. Go, and watch it.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment